The KUTRRH Board of directors is responsible for the management and administration of the Hospital. The members of the Board are:

Prof. Olive Mugenda, Ph.D., EBS, CBS

Prof. Mugenda holds MSc and Ph.D. degrees from Iowa State University (USA). She also holds an MBA degree from ESAMI, Arusha (Tanzania). She was previously the Vice-Chancellor of Kenyatta University from 2006 to 2016. Before this, she was the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Finance Planning & Development). She has also held various Board positions in a number of organizations including Chairperson, Association of Commonwealth Universities; Vice-President- International Association of Universities; Director, Nation Media Group; Member, Association of African Universities; Kenya National Examinations Council; Kenya Education Management Institute (KEMI) among others.

Dr. John W. Masasabi

Dr. Masasabi is the Acting CEO of KUTRRH. He was formerly the Acting Director General for Health, Ministry of Health. Dr. Wekesa has over 33 years of experience in Health Systems Management and was instrumental in the formulation of the Kenya Health Policy (2014-2030) while serving as the Head, Department of Policy, Planning and Healthcare Financing, in the Ministry. He holds a Bachelors degree in medicine and surgery and a Masters degree in medicine (General Surgery) from the University of Nairobi. He holds a post graduate diploma in health systems management (Israel) and Policy analysis and implementation in addition to strategic leadership from the Kenya school of Government.

Ms. Gladys Ogallo

Gladys is an experienced and accomplished board member, serving on both Africa and International boards. She has sector experience in Telecommunications, Banking, Insurance, Investment and Education with special reference to managing Human Resources. She is currently the Managing Director of Virtual Human Resources Services Ltd, a Human Resource consulting company.

Mr. Kithinji Kiragu, OGW, MBS

Kithinji Kiragu (KK) has over the past 30 years professionally practised as a public sector management and governance consultant. KK is currently a director of the Africa Development Professional Group.  Prior to that, until June 2007, he was a Partner in PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) based in Kenya, and responsible for public sector management advisory services in the Africa Central region.

Dr. Patrick Amoth
Director General Ministry of Health
Mr. Onaya Odeck
Representative Ku council

Mr. Narry P. Onaya – Odeck holds a master degree in project planning and management and Bachelor’s Degree in Education from the University of Nairobi. Mr Onaya Odeck is a seasoned administrator with vast professional leadership skills in administration, HR management and communication.  He is currently a member of council at Kenyatta University which he represents at KUTRRH’s Board of Directors.

Prof. Paul Wainaina, Ph.D.
VC, Kenyatta University

Prof. Paul Kuria Wainaina is the current Vice Chancellor of Kenyatta University, a position he has held since 26th January, 2018. He is a full Professor of Education, specializing in Philosophy of Education. Professor Wainaina earned his Ph.D. from the University of Alberta in 1985, a Master of Arts in Education, and a Bachelor of Education (Arts) from the University of Nairobi in 1982 and 1976, respectively.

Dr Harun Kimani
Dean,KU school of medicine

Dr. Harun Kimani is the dean of the school of medicine in Kenyatta University. Dr Kimani studied medicine in University  of Nairobi, Masters in Public Health in Moi University, Eldoret and a PhD from JKUAT in Kenya. He has subsequently done global health management as  AFYABORA fellow with University of Washington in Seattle and has been a research fellow with CFAR in UW.


Dr. Alfred Karagu
Alternate PS. Health
Mr. Dan Mesis
Alternate PS, University Education & Research
Ms. Jane Wambugu
Ms. Pauline Mcharo